Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsDallas Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News
United Soccer Leagues


November 27, 2012
Yallop-Coach of the Year; Johnson-Comeback Player

NEW YORK – San Jose Earthquakes head coach Frank Yallop has been named Major League Soccer's Coach of the Year and the Seattle Sounders Eddie Johnson has been voted Comeback Player of the Year.

This season Yallop led the San Jose Earthquakes to its second Supporters’ Shield in club history, a drastic turnaround from the club’s 14th place finish in 2011. Yallop and the Earthquakes fell just two points shy of the MLS single-season points record, set by LA Galaxy in 1998 (68 points).

With 114 regular season wins, Yallop is tied for fourth overall in MLS history with current Houston Dynamo coach Dominic Kinnear. As a coach, Yallop has made five trips to the MLS Cup Playoffs and claimed two MLS Cup titles (2001, 2003) during his ten year career.

The award was voted on by media, MLS players and MLS club management based on regular season performance. The other two finalists were D.C United’s Ben Olsen and Sporting Kansas City’s Peter Vermes.

After struggling to find consistency for three years playing in Europe, Eddie Johnson returned to Major League Soccer to join Seattle Sounders FC ahead of the 2012 season. The move resurrected Johnson’s career for both club and country.

Johnson regained his form this season, scoring 14 goals and recording three assists in 28 games played to help the Sounders FC reach the MLS Cup playoffs for the fourth consecutive year. In October, Johnson received his first United States national team call up since May 2010. He scored two decisive goals against Antigua and Barbuda, which propelled the U.S. into the hexagonal round of World Cup Qualifying.

This is Johnson’s second Comeback Player of the Year award. He previously received the honor in 2007 when he scored 15 goals for the Kansas City Wizards after only scoring twice in the season prior.

The award was voted on by media, MLS players and MLS club management based on regular season performance. The other two finalists were D.C United midfielder Chris Pontius and San Jose Earthquakes forward Alan Gordon.

MLS Coach of the Year Winners:
2012: Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes
2011: Bruce Arena – LA Galaxy
2010: Schellas Hyndman – FC Dallas
2009: Bruce Arena – Los Angeles Galaxy
2008: Sigi Schmid – Columbus Crew
2007: Preki – Chivas USA
2006: Bob Bradley – Chivas USA
2005: Dominic Kinnear – San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Greg Andrulis – Columbus Crew
2003: Dave Sarachan – Chicago Fire
2002: Steve Nicol – New England Revolution
2001: Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Bob Gansler – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Sigi Schmid – Los Angeles Galaxy
1998: Bob Bradley – Chicago Fire
1997: Bruce Arena – D.C. United
1996: Thomas Rongen – Tampa Bay Mutiny

MLS Comeback Player of the Year Winners:
2012: Eddie Johnson – Seattle Sounders FC
2011: David Beckham – Los Angeles Galaxy
2010: Bobby Convey – San Jose Earthquakes
2009: Zach Thornton – Chivas USA
2008: Kenny Cooper – FC Dallas
2007: Eddie Johnson – Kansas City Wizards
2006: Richard Mulrooney – FC Dallas
2005: Chris Klein – Kansas City Wizards
2004: Brian Ching – San Jose Earthquakes
2003: Chris Armas – Chicago Fire
2002: Chris Klein – Kansas City Wizards
2001: Troy Dayak – San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2015 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC All Rights Reserved