Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsDallas Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News
U.S. National Team


November 19, 2012
Dempsey named U.S. Soccer male athlete of the year again

Clint Dempsey has been named U.S. Soccer male athlete of the year three times.
Clint Dempsey has been named U.S. Soccer male athlete of the year three times.
Linda Cuttone/Sports Vue Images
CHICAGO---For the second time in a row and the third time in six years, U.S. international striker Clint Dempsey was selected as U.S. Soccer's male athlete of the year, it was announced on Monday.

The award is the highest honor bestowed to soccer players in the United States. Online votes registered on U.S. Soccer's Facebook page counted for 50 percent of the total votes, while the other 50 percent was represented by votes compiled from members of the national media and U.S. Soccer representatives, including National Team coaches and members of the U.S. Soccer board of directors.

Dempsey also won in 2007 and 2011. He became the second three-time winner of the award, joining Kasey Keller (1997, 1999, 2005) and Landon Donovan, a four-time winner (2003, 2004, 2009, 2010).

Donovan and Dempsey are the only players to have won the award on back-to-back occasions.

Dempsey led U.S. scorers with six goals, including five in the semifinal round of World Cup qualifying. He also was a big part of the Americans' 1-0 victory in Italy on Feb. 29, tallying the lone goal in the 1-0 victory in Genoa. He has 30 international goals, tied with Brian McBride for third all-time.

In England, Dempsey concluded his career at Fulham as the team's all-time leading scorer in the Premier League before moving to Tottenham in August in one of the highest-profile deals for an American abroad.


1984: Rick Davis
1985: Perry Van der Beck
1986: Paul Caligiuri
1987: Brent Goulet
1988: Peter Vermes
1989: Mike Windischmann
1990: Tab Ramos
1991: Hugo Perez
1992: Marcelo Balboa
1993: Thomas Dooley
1994: Marcelo Balboa
1995: Alexi Lalas
1996: Eric Wynalda
1997: Kasey Keller
1998: Cobi Jones
1999: Kasey Keller
2000: Chris Armas
2001: Earnie Stewart
2002: Brad Friedel
2003: Landon Donovan
2004: Landon Donovan
2005: Kasey Keller
2006: Oguchi Onyewu
2007: Clint Dempsey
2008: Tim Howard
2009: Landon Donovan
2010: Landon Donovan
2011: Clint Dempsey
2012: Clint Dempsey

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2014 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC All Rights Reserved